"Cancelled appointment"

About: St Richard's Hospital

I had an appointment today for Rheumatology. I received a letter last Saturday dated 10/02/2015 saying it had been cancelled. My next appointment was 1 /10/2015 this is 7 months later !! I have osteoarthritis in both knees , neck , hands and need 1 replacing , at this appointment today that was cancelled i was supposed to be refered onto a surgeon. I also have Fibromyligia and are struggling to work and really needed to see the consultant today not in 7 months. This makes it 14 months between appointmemts !! I phoned and was told he was on holiday and they would ask him if he could put on another clinic. I am not happy with the way i have been treated.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Richard's Hospital

We are so sorry to hear that you had this frustrating experience. We are aware that there was indeed a problem with this clinic being cancelled late in the day, and the reasons for this are being investigated. Meanwhile the Rheumatology team have been working hard to re-schedule patients within the next few weeks. As this site is anonymous, we cannot check whether this has been done for you personally as we don't have your deails. You may have already heard, but if not, please contact the hospital on 01243 788122 and ask for the Rheumatology Office, and the secretaries will be happy to help you. Our apologies for your less than satisfactory experience.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful