"My Fathers recent hospital treatment"

About: Lister Hospital

My father has had to stay in Lister hospital several times over the last few months. There are several points I would like to make: 1. Both doctors and nurses seem to be under the impression that patients distress cannot be physically monitored so therefore does not exist. They understand the 'hardware' but the 'software' is a foreign country to them 2. The wards are untidy and look dirty 3. The corridors and public areas are unkempt 4. On 2 occasions we had to wait more than 5 hours from the time he was discharged and the time he finally received his medication 5. On 2 other occasions we had to wait more than 4 hours for the pharmacy 6. On only one occasion out of 7 were we shown his notes despite asking to see them 7. During one stay transport was requested as no-one could be there to pick him up. He was made to wait over 7 hours from the time he was discharged 8. He was discharged last Sunday and arrived home with a cannula still in his arm

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lister Hospital

We're really that your impression of both our hospital and the care that your father received was not good. If you are happy to help us, we would like to have your concerns investigated as a formal complaint because we feel that both you and your father deserves answers to many of the important points you have made - and where things did not happen as they should, an apology is given. If you are willing to let us investigate your father's care whilst at the Lister, all you need do is contact us at generalenquiries.enh-tr@nhs.net and we can help you take it from there. We do hope that you give us that chance.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful