"Outpatient appointment"

About: Russells Hall Hospital

I attended the orthopaedic outpatients dept, didnt know what to expect but first impressions were how miserable some members of staff were , abrupt too.I sat with my husband waiting for a while to then be told that my mri scan results were not sent there , which i was annoyed about , I was asked to go and get undressed and sit and wait in the cubicle , well I may as well have sat outside I was frozen. The windows were open I sat there for three quarters of an hour beforecthe dr came in, To be told again well I haven't got your results so I cant really tell you much , luckiky mybgp gave me a copy of the report but no images. Anyway he examined me and more or less advised I could have a nerve injection done at a later date. Im very reluctant now especially if they don't receive the results and tge injection is put where its not needed and in the wrong place, Its a long way to go too to be fobbed off not a happy girl

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Russells Hall Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your experience of our Orthopaedic Outpatients Department. We must apologise for your poor experience. It is so disappointing to read how dissatisfied you were with your visit. We welcome all feedback and would like to assure you that all comments are taken seriously and acted upon as part of our ongoing commitment to improving patient experience. We are really concerned by your experience of some of our staff. There is never an excuse for rude, miserable or abrupt behaviour and please accept our sincere apologies for this. We have informed the lead nurse who will raise your comments at the next team meeting to ensure this attitude is not repeated. We are really sorry to hear that you were cold and had to wait so long to see the doctor. We do aim to keep all areas at a comfortable temperature; however, it would not have helped that the window was left open. Thank you for bringing this to our attention – we have passed your comments on to our facilities manager. Every attempt is made to make sure that MRI results are ready for patients’ clinic appointments. Unfortunately, there are some occasions where results are not available in time and we are really sorry that this is what happened at your appointment. Please be assured, however, that no procedure would ever be undertaken without your clinician having reviewed the MRI images and report beforehand. We are really sorry to hear that your experience has left you feeling reluctant about going ahead with further procedures. We would encourage you to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0800 073 0510 who can arrange a meeting with the lead nurse on your behalf to talk through your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful