"Rapid assessment and treatment via the Assessment..."

About: Royal Blackburn Hospital

I was referred to the hospital via my GP late on Friday afternoon. My immune system was known to be compromised because of illness and specialist treatment in 2013 and I was allocated a single bed cubicle overnight while my condition was being investigated. Unfortunately, a precautionary endoscopy had to be postponed from Saturday to Monday. Circumstances then resulted in me spending the Saturday night in one of the general wards, which unfortunately I found very noisy. However, my condition was re-assessed on the Sunday morning and I was allowed home, returning for my endoscopy the following morning. This was quick, efficient and informative. As far as circumstances permitted, weekend being a bad time to be admitted to hospital, I was given appropriate assessment and treatment and was well cared for. However, I suspect that a weekday admission would have resulted in a one night stay only. This is not a criticism of the Hospital but of the "system"

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Blackburn Hospital

Dear Felix Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our Endoscopy service, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure both your appreciation but also your comments about processes which meant a longer stay in hospital are passed onto the team. I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience of care with us was positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care. If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to improve things but also build on those things that were positive to improve things for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471/ 01254 733704 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk. Or if you prefer you can discuss further any concerns you may have about our services with our Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further. Many thanks again for taking the time to comment and best wishes for a continued recovery Wendy Stobbs, Patient Experience Facilitator

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful