"Visit to the minor injury unit"

About: Queen Victoria Hospital (East Grinstead)

I thought the service here was absolutely disgraceful. Plenty of staff but completely unfocused. Patients left in bad discomfort as the nurses stood about gassing among themselves. I waited approximately five hours for an simple X-Ray. If you desperate go here by all means. If however you can hold out, try and limp to a proper hospital with trained doctors. The head nurse sat there with a glazed expression doing nothing at all for most of time. They really need to focus in this Dept. and multi-task rather than inefficiently drip feed patients through the system There was always enough staff, just not enough respect for the patients and drive to run the place efficiently. Everyone was moaning about the lack of communication from the staff. One nurse kept coming out singing patients names in a operatic voice. Very strange and quite disturbing. Worse patients confidential information was being shouted across the clinic by the "singing nurse" Before someone thinks I am just complaining I would add my wife is also a Sister and she also thought the nursing standards were abysmal .

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Victoria Hospital

Dear Anonymous We at Queen Victoria Hospital are concerned to read of your experience following your recent attendance to our Minor Injuries Unit. It would be important to be able to understand what happened to you and the date that this occured so that we can fully investigate the significant issues that you have reported. This is not the experience that we aim to provide. Please contact the PALS service pals@qvh.nhs.uk to enable us to progress this. We look forward to hearing from you and apologise for the negative experience that you have reported. Kind regards Nicolle Tadman - Patient Experience Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful