"Great Care - Friendly Staff"

About: Derriford Hospital

I had pneumonia and was admitted to Clearbrook ward as the other wards were full. I stayed for five days. The care was great and I could see some of the nursing staff were battling the clock with a heavy work load which they managed with a smile. The only moan was the hot food which looked revolting I opted for toast or cake with my wife bringing in sandwiches. I noticed commercial trucks lining up at the back of the hospital and that is the reason the food is awful.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Genny Turner, Senior Quality Facilitator, Plymouth Hospitals NHS Trust

Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

I am sorry to hear that you did not feel that the food looked appetising; I will pass your comments onto Serco who are the contracted catering company for Derriford hospital.

Your feedback will also be shared with the Ward Manager of Clearbrook Ward also so that the team involved in your care can be praised for the hard work.

With best wishes


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful