"Hospital stay July 2008"

About: Leeds General Infirmary / Trauma and orthopaedics St James's University Hospital / Trauma and orthopaedics Yorkshire Ambulance Service NHS Trust

(as the patient),

On Saturday, July 19th 2008 I dislocated my nearly 10 year old replacement right hip and was taken by ambulance to the Leeds General Infirmary, Ward 36. My problem might not have been life threatening, but it was very scary, and waiting an hour for an ambulance was awful. In hospital, I wasn’t happy when the nursing staff had to change my bedding, as I was heaved about, which was extremely painful and frightening, (which they also did to other patients; one with a broken hip bone and another with a similar problem). The night nurses had a much better system. Instead of rolling the patient (in this case me) from side to side, they helped me raise my upper body first, put clean sheets on bed, and then eased the sheets from under my hips and legs as I laid back in bed.

Also, why are patients allowed so many visitors at any one time, and why are they allowed to be so noisy?

And, please NHS don't treat the over 60s or even 70s as if they are finished. Many of us still go to a gym, or swim, have dance classes. In other words we are still people, just a bit older.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Patient and Public Involvement Lead, Leeds PCT

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry to hear that you had to wait for an ambulance and that you were uncomfortable sometimes on the ward.

I shall pass your comments onto the Patient Relations Manager at the hospital.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful