"Women's health clinic - dating scan 15/08/14"

About: Eastbourne District General Hospital

Went in for my dating scan for my first pregnancy today at the womens health clinoc in the DGH was really nervous and felt like I was in a cattle market. Nurses were shouting out names and telling people loudly what X-ray the needed across the room with seemingly no respect for patient confidentiality. I had my blood pressure taken by a lovely lady who was the only person who made my partner and I feel at ease. I had my scan with the rudest sonography who made me feel like I couldn't ask any questions and didn't talk me through what was going on. Just said I was a bit early and needed to come back in a few weeks. I was made to feel like a nuisance and that it was my fault that I'd have to come back, she didnt give me any reassirance everything looked ok until i asked at the end and then was quite short with me, she really ruined what was supposed to be a really special day for my partner and I. Upon leaving with the blurriest scan snap of the lot the receptionist shouted I have to pay for scan photos as I walked past, no one had told me and I was so embarrassed as other people were staring. Then she saw I only had one and said oh you must be very early you don't have to pay for one. Not thinking I didn't really want the whole waiting room knowing my business. Then followed an very long winded explanation why she had to book me another scan (before the situation was rescued and resolved by the nice nurse I saw for my blood pressure). The doctor also wouldn't book me for a 20 week scan saying my next scan would be at 28 weeks so that was very confusing. I am not from eastbourne and have never been to the DGH and I really don't want to have my child there but it doesn't seem I have a great deal of choice! Seriously considering a home birth!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Eastbourne District General Hospital

Firstly may we apologise for our delay in posting a response. However, please be assured that all feedback is monitored regularly and is forwarded to the General Manager and Head of Nursing for Womens Services in a swift manner. We are all very concerned to read your posting on NHS Choices. As a Trust we are committed to giving the highest quality of care, however, this is clearly not what you describe happened when you attended for your dating scan at Eastbourne DGH. We are deeply saddened to hear that your poor experience ruined you and your partners special day. We take all comments very seriously and we're very keen to look into the issues you highlighted in more detail. We would therefore like to have a discussion with you to gather more detail and also to give us an opportunity to apologise in person. If you would like to do this, please contact the Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) on 01323 435886 who will make appropriate arrangements. If you prefer, they can also be contacted by email at: PALSE@esht.nhs.uk. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We hope you feel able to contact us.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful