"Very disappointed !"

About: Manchester Royal Infirmary

These staff really needs to be retrained. Once or twice that I encountered a rude staff was okay because I can understand that people can have bad days. However every single staff I spoke to the two days that my father was in hospital were either In a rush to be somewhere else or made me feel like I was wasting their time. They were bad mannered, impatient and unbelievably unhelpful. In one instance I found out that they had moved my father into another section, I had to ask at least 5 nurses before I found him! It felt like nobody was bothered, no one actually took the time to find out and instead directed me all over the ETC department. I am utterly disgusted by the way and manner they spoke to me in. They made me feel like again I was wasting their time and gave me the impression that they had somewhere to go or something more important to do. I can tell you the one thing that they are good at; and that is huddle around and chat. The NHS has really gone downhill, these staff and nurses seem like they dont even have the very basics Trainings about their roles. And how to speak to people properly! I sometimes think if they can treat someone like me who speaks perfect English in the poorly mannered way that they do then how will they treat my father who does not speak and does not understand a single word of English. I am very disappointed!

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to learn that your experience was not as positive as we would hope on the experience you received from our staff on the Elective Treatment Centre. It is important to us that comments are heard and seen as an opportunity provided to the service to make changes and improvements wherever possible.

In response to your comment, we can tell you that your concerns will be raised directly with the staff involved so that they can reflect on their attitudes and behaviours. It is important to us that patients and their relatives are treated with courtesy at all times and we do not wish others to experience the same issues as you did.

It is difficult to respond to all the posts in a full way often because of a lack of detailed information, therefore if you would like to discuss this with us in more detail, please feel free to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 0161 276 8686 or by e-mailing pals@cmft.nhs.uk

The Patient Experience Team

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust