"lack of nursing care and professional standards"

About: Queen Victoria Hospital (East Grinstead)

Following admission of my nephew for a fractured jaw I was shocked to observe the lack of attention and care shown by the nursing/health care staff at the hospital. Poor communication, lack of information, hopeless reception and inadequate basic care and attention were prevalent. Astonishing that the hospital claims high patient satisfaction. As a healthcare professional myself I was ashamed to observe such poor practice amongst disinterested nurses and invisible managers. On a positive note no complaints at all regarding the professional service/standards provided by registrars/surgeons which was excellent in all respects.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Victoria Hospital

Dear Grahame H, we were concerned to read of your experience following your nephew’s treatment at Queen Victoria Hospital. It would be important for us to be able to understand what happened and in which department of the hospital this happened in. This is not the experience that we aim to provide. In order for us to investigate this further could I ask that you contact the PALS service on info@qvh.nhs.uk to enable us to progress this. I would be happy to call you if you provide your contact details. We look forward to hearing from you and apologise for the distressing experience that you have reported. Kind regards, Ali Strowman, Deputy Director of Nursing

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful