"Icu august 2013"

About: Southend Hospital

I was admitted to the icu department from A and E I was connected to a ECG machine I was promise that my blood pressure would be checked thorough the night also a doctor would come and see me. My son asked the nurses if I could have water as I was dehydrated which they said they would as I had been sick, none of this occurred except when I was desperate to go to the toilet they took my blood pressure and was told the doctor was too busy to see me. I lay all night in a pair of shorts that I had been sick in and was still wearing my slippers in bed.The next morning I was given a jug of water I asked if I could have a wash I was given a bowl of pink water and a dry wipe I ask if I could get up and have a wash to which the nurses agreed and removed the ECG machine.I then asked where the shower was, there wasn't one I also asked If they had any toiletries I could use as I did not have any, there wasn't any so I locked the toilet door and had a strip wash using the toilet hand soap. The doctor and the cardiology nurse came to see me later to discharge me and made an appoint for further tests, this was discussion quite openly in the ward no privacy thankfully the tests was ok. I asked if I could use the phone for my son to pick me up I had no money the nurse said they were busy which I understand but how do I get home. Thankfully I was able to contact my son I have never been so glad to get out of that ward. I understand that they were moving back to their refurbished ward that day but it has left me with the fear until now of that night even my daughter-in-law who is American told me afterwards that they did not like to leave me there as it reminded her of a third world country. I feel things should not happen like this I have until recently worked for the nhs I am truly concerned about ever being ill and having to go into hospital.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Louise McIver, Patient Involvement Coordinator, Southend University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your post relating to your visit to Southend Hospital's A&E and ICU department.

I am sorry that this was not the experience you would expect to receive and apologise for any distress this may have caused to both you and your family.

I would like to look into this in more detail but without all of your identifiable information I am unable to establish when exactly this was. I notice you have put August 2013 on your post, if this is correct we would need to look back at some of the detail you have included.

In August 2013 A&E was on our AMU 1 whilst A&E had building works. AMU 1 also moved to another ward in August 2013. There was a shower available on this ward for patients.

Both A&E and AMU’s have charitable donations of toiletries for both male and female so this should have been available to you.

You mention the use of a phone to contact your Son, we do of course allow patients to use the ward phone to contact relatives but as we have to assist them to dial out as you have to put 9 before the number you do have to wait for nursing staff to be available and we allow use of mobile phones on the ward.

We appreciate feedback we receive from patients and I can assure you I will pass on all of your comments to the relevant departments.

If, however you feel you would like this matter looked at on a more personal level then please contact our Complaints Department by either emailing complaints@southend.nhs.uk or write in to us and address it to our Chief Executive Jacqueline Totterdell to be fully investigated.

I thank you again for your post.

Regards,

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Southend Hospital

Thank you for your post relating to your visit to Southend Hospital's A&E and ICU department. I am sorry that this was not the experience you would expect to receive and apologise for any distress this may have caused to both you and your family. I would like to look into this in more detail but without all of your identifiable information I am unable to establish when exactly this was. I notice you have put August 2013 on your post, if this is correct we would need to look back at some of the detail you have included. In August 2013 A&E was on our AMU 1 whilst A&E had building works. AMU 1 also moved to another ward in August 2013. There was a shower available on this ward for patients. Both A&E and AMU’s have charitable donations of toiletries for both male and female so this should have been available to you. You mention the use of a phone to contact your Son, we do of course allow patients to use the ward phone to contact relatives but as we have to assist them to dial out as you have to put 9 before the number you do have to wait for nursing staff to be available and we allow use of mobile phones on the ward. We appreciate feedback we receive from patients and I can assure you I will pass on all of your comments to the relevant departments. If, however you feel you would like this matter looked at on a more personal level then please contact our Complaints Department by either emailing complaints@southend.nhs.uk or write in to us and address to our Chief Executive Jacqueline Totterdell to be fully investigated.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful