"Appointment line is a farce"

About: West Middlesex University Hospital

I have tried all day to book a blood test appointment for my husband. I tried repeatedly during the day (while at work) but there was never a wait time of less than 20 minutes, with 14 or more in the queue. By the time it got to 3.45pm today (they close at 4.30) I was resigned to holding for quite a while if I was ever to get through.I was advised a wait time of 37 minutes and was number 16 in the queue. After holding for 52 minutes and reaching number 3 in the queue, the abrupt message was relayed: 'I'm sorry there are no agents available to take your call please try calling back later. Goodbye' Do not allow callers to hold if you are not prepared to tke all the calls that are queueing. It is a waste of their time and money. There was 'no agent available' to take my call on the complaints line either.....

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from West Middlesex University Hospital

We are concerned to hear about your recent experiences and would like to apologise that things did not go smoothly for you. We offer a drop-in service for blood tests, with no need to book an appointment, and this should have been made clear to your husband to avoid the issues you had trying to call. This information is on our website and should be given to patients. Your feedback has been passed on to the relevant staff. We are not sure which number you tried calling and experienced such delays with but we are currently upgrading our telephone system at the hospital, which should improve the way calls are dealt with. If you would like to discuss any of your issues in more detail then please do get in touch via our PALS team: pals.service@wmuh.nhs.uk / 020 8321 6261.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful