"Shouldn't have bothered no procedure for A&E..."

About: Queen Mary's Hospital (Sidcup)

Went here with a minor ailment at weekend, when I was seen was told I should go A&E with a letter from them. When I got A&E the receptionist commented that 'there are sending a few over here today' I then had to go though the whole triage process again. I tried to use the UCC and save visiting A&E reducing the pressure on the A&E services this system does not work as had I have gone to A&E in the 1st place I would have been seen and out in the time it took to travel and wait at UCC instead I had to wait again no fast tracking for UCC referrals . Next time straight to A & E until such times as there is a process in place at least acknowledging you have exhausted all alternative before attending A&E

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Mary's Hospital

Thank you for your comments. I apologise for the experience you had whilst in the Urgent Care Centre. The Hurley Group took over the running of the Urgent Care at Queen Mary's at the beginning of July. On being assessed at the Urgent Care Centre the clinician felt that your needs would have been better met with in an A&E department as they have more diagnostics available to them. I am unable to comment about the experience you had at A&E regarding the triage process. I can assure that if we could have treated you at the Urgent Care Centre then we would have done so. Debbie Maxted Regional Manager Urgent Care - The Hurley Group

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful