"Ridiculous waiting times"

About: Huddersfield Royal Infirmary / Neurology

(as the patient),

I had a scheduled first appointment at neurology for 3pm and arrived at 2. 45pm. There were families there who had been waiting over an hour and had appointment times half an hour before mine.

I have a number of co morbidities including gastro intestinal problems and asthma and cannot sit for long. The family who had a 2. 30pm appointment didn't get int to see the consultant until 3. 35pm and I knew then it would be past 4pm before it was my turn. As I was finding it difficult to sit and to breathe I left at 3. 35pm. Nobody came out at any time to let us know that there was a delay of how long we could expect to wait. The family sitting next to me who had been sitting for over an hour were very upset. Another family scheduled to see one of the consultants also went to see the nurse to see what was happening before I did.

No dignity and no respect for the patient. I understand that sometimes patients appointment times run over but this was ridiculous. If I could sit for that length of time I probably shouldn't have been attending neurology in the first place. The appointments system needs a complete overhaul with regular updates after, say 20 minutes if a patient is waiting more than this time after their scheduled appointment.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS Foundation Trust

We are so sorry to hear of your disappointing experience of our services and really sorry to hear you had to leave without being seen. Obviously we cannot give you any explanation of what the problem was on the day of your appointment as we do not get full details via this site.

We do hope you have obtained a further appointment and that your next visit is more successful, but if you would like to look into this for you, please contact our Patient Advice and Complaints Service on 0800 013 0018 or by email to patientadvice@cht.nhs.uk, where our staff will be pleased to help. We are really grateful to you for providing feedback as this is very valuable to us, and your comments will be fed back to the department concerned for awareness and to help ensure such situations are avoided in the future.

Update posted by Constance Gladys (the patient)

I have received a positive response outlining the intention to monitor the neurology clinics in order to identify what is causing the delays and from there address those issues. I have received a new appointment to see the neurologist. Further, the clinic staff have been reminded of the need to keep patients informed of any delays. Further concerns I have raised have already been addressed as evidenced by my visit to another clinic in the past week.

I wish to thank the Operational Manager for initially contacting me regarding my concerns and then following this up with an email outlining their intentions. Exemplary practice!.

Response from Linda Thomas, Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS Foundation Trust

We are delighted to hear our staff were able to address your concerns and all is now well. Once again, many thanks for raising the issues with us.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful