"They either forget or don't care"

About: Wythenshawe Hospital

I recently crushed my fingers in work and had been refered to this hospital for surgery. At first I had my check up their and everything went fine and then they gave me a date for the surgery. on the day of my surgery I had just got on the bus to go there and the woman called me and explained that there was a medical emergency going on and so she will call me to re-schedual the next day (understandable). a few days later we rearranged the date/time but unfortunately I was running late so I rang the woman and explained that I was going to be late and she said not worry I can still come in but I will be the last to be seen too as there was 3 other awaiting surgery. About half an hour later someone else rang me and asked me where I was and so I explained I had allready spoke to someone and explained that I'm running late and that I can still come in, this woman then said that I can't come in and the woman I had spoke too had told me wrong. she then said she will ring me back tommorow to reschedule again. the day after I received no calls or the day after that nor the day after ,so I started ringing the number she gave me everyday and everyday there was no answer. so I started to ring the switchboard number and most of the times I rang them they answered but would either tell me they can't help me or transfer me through to the number I have allready been trying to ring and I would still get no answer. so everyday now I have rang and either got no answer or told they can't help me and cannot (for some unexplained reason) pass my message on so that they could ring me back. at this point now, a week and a half after my surgery date was supposed to be, and my original bandaging has come off to due to water shrinking and it had become dirty and so now both my fingers are exposed and my nails hanging on by dry blood and new skin growing over them. I understand that the first date there was an emergency and the second time I was late but I did ring and explain and told that I could still come in (wrongly) but now I jut feel forgotten about and because my injury is a work incident I cannot go through with the claim unless I receive full treatment but that doesn't look like it's going to happen now, the first time I vitiated the hospital I though very highly of it, it was the best and quickest service I had had from a hospital yet but now I am very disappointed and quite angry as I am writing this review after trying again and again to ring them .

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wythenshawe Hospital

We are sorry to hear of the difficulty you have encountered in contacting our services and that you consequently feel that you have been forgotten. We have forwarded your concerns to the appropriate department however, in order for us to resolve this issue for you we need further infromation. Please contact the Patient Experience Manager for plastic surgery on 0161 291 5381 and she will be happy to assist. Kind regards Patient Experience Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful