"Falsely imprisoned in ward for 48 hours"

About: Wexham Park Hospital

I went to this hospital because my little daughter removed a cast on her finger which had been previously broken and operated on at another hospital. Was stereotyped by nursing staff as an illegal immigrant for being black, They never asked for ID or papers to verify their assumption, but locked me and my infants in the children ward for 48 hours.We were treated with disdain , Took social services to finally come and request identity documents and children's birth certificates (all of which i had on me), but never requested by hospital; staff. Worst hospital; for ethnic minorities.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wexham Park Hospital

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Wexham Park Hospital. I am sorry that you feel you were stereotyped and were locked in the ward. I understand from the Children's Services team that you were kept fully informed during your stay whilst we worked with our Social Care partners in the best interest of your children. If you would like to discuss this further please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Team on pals@hwph-tr.nhs.uk or 01753 633365. Kind Regards Claire Marshall Associate Director of Patient Experience and Public Involvement

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful