"I may look young but that's not the point"

About: East Surrey Hospital / Maternity

(as the patient),

My story is that I'm 35 weeks and 6 days into my pregnancy and have been in and out of hospital since I was 32 weeks pregnant. Both times I've been put on the same ward with the same midwives and haven't been happy with some of them treating me the way they have.

Two evenings I've had really poor care from some of the night midwives as they just don't seem to care. Also during the day for two days I've had not some very good midwives for helping me and making me as comfortable as possible. It is very upsetting and frustrating at the same time as I feel I'm not getting listen to as I may look young but that's not the point. I'm still a patient on the ward as my needs are not greater than what my baby needs. Also I don't like staff moving stuff without asking first which I find very rude.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Ian Mackenzie, Director of Information and Facilities, Surrey and Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust We are preparing to make a change

picture of Ian Mackenzie

Dear Minx,

I am very concerned to read your story, particularly if you are on the ward at the moment. We can look into this for you so if you e-mail your details to ian.mackenzie@sash.nhs.uk I will get someone to look into this as soon as possible.

Please be assured we will look into this for you.



  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Bill Kilvington, Assistant Director for Women and Children's, Surrey and Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust

Dear Minx,

I am really sorry that you have had this experience in our department. I know that the Head of Midwifery, Michelle was able to speak to you on the ward this morning and get more details of the problems you have experienced.

While I am pleased to learn that the majority of our midwives have been very caring, this does not excuse any lack of care or compassion by even one of the team. I am assured that Michelle will be taking steps to ensure that all our midwifery staff strive to provide the standard of care that we expect and you have every right to receive.

Thank you for taking the time to speak with Michelle and for being open about the problems you have experienced. This certainly helps us to improve the standards of care for all.

I do wish you well for the remainder of your pregnancy, I know that Michelle has left you her contact details should you need any further support.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful