"She has made me upset and sad"

About: Ninewells Hospital / Gynaecology

(as the patient),

I had phoned up to cancel my surgery for the next week and to let them know I was unwell due too breathing problems.

It does say on the letter to contract them if you are not well and also wish to change the appt. so I did that but got a women on the phone which was really rude and said no she can't cancel and I have too attend to the ward that day.

She has made me upset and very sad.

I did not do anything wrong I had phone to let them know but insead I get this..what did I do wrong I was very nice on phone..I do not wish to go there after this.

I will be going back too my Gp. there was no need for this.

It was not nice...😞

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Caroline Hiscox, Associate Nurse Director, NHS Tayside

Dear Topcatdee,

thank you for taking the time to contact us through Patient Opinion and sharing your experience. I am sorry that in trying to inform us that you were unable to attend for your surgery you were left you feeling upset and very sad. NHS Tayside expects all staff to engage sensitively with patients at all times.

To allow me to fully understand I would welcome a further conversation with you. If you would find this helpful I can be contacted at feedback.tayside@nhs.net

Kind regards


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story