"Unacceptable care from doctors"

About: NHS Dumfries and Galloway

(as the patient),

Unacceptable by both doctors. The first doctor I feel had no time for me and did not believe me, the second thinks I am a joke. The doctor upped my prescription and would not prescribe me a sick line on my release from prison.

I am not all bad but I am ill with depression, three of my immediate family are deceased. Still not sick line to forward on to DW Pensions.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Yvonne Christley, Patient Experience and Communications Manager, Patient Services Department, NHS Dumfries and Galloway

Dear Isle660

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience and I am so sorry to hear about the difficulties you have had. I have passed your story to the healthcare team at HMP Dumfries.

To help us to look into this further I would be very grateful if you could make contact. This will allow us and the healthcare team at the prison to look at the specific circumstances of your care and make sure you are able to access the appropriate mental health support services. We are also concerned that you have had problems getting a sick line, this is not usually the case and we would like to look more closely at why this did not happen in your particular case.

You can contact either myself or a member of the Patient Services team on 01387 272733.

With my sincerest apologies and best wishes


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story