"Day surgery"

About: St Albans City Hospital

While I could see patients in surrounding beds being cared for really well by nurses, unfortunately, my allocated nurse, the sister, gave very poor care indeed. In fact, the care given was so non existent that other nurses (4 others) stepped in and responded to my calls for help. Following surgery my nurse failed to check on me for nearly an hour. A student nurse came along at one point and said she would help me get to the loo on crutches. Though well intentioned, she clearly had never helped anyone post surgery before. I ended up collapsed on the floor in front of a row of other patients, hospital gown completely open. I was lifted back onto a bed (not by my allocated nurse) and taken back to the bay (not having been to the loo). When the surgeon came round my nurse did turn up again. She had said she would make sure the sickness certificate was completed. She failed to do this and told me that the surgeon had screwed it up and thrown it away by mistake. When I asked if I could get another sickness certificate she said no, the surgeon had gone home and I would need to go to my local doctor to get one. The care I observed being given by many nurses on the day surgery unit was really super. I was just gutted that I was allocated such an uncaring and inattentive nurse. Extraordinary too that she should be a sister.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Albans City Hospital

Thank you for letting us have feedback about your recent visit to the day surgery unit at St Albans Hospital. I am sorry to hear you needed surgery and I hope you are now on the mend? I am of course very disappointed to hear of the concerns you have raised. I know the team pride themselves on the level of service they provide and I am sure your feedback will be a big disappointment. It would help me if you could please contact our patient advice and liaison service (PALS) so that they can get some further detail from you and look into the concerns you have raised. That way we can find out who was on duty and speak to the staff member involved. Our PALS team can be contacted on 01923 217 198 or you can email pals@whht.nhs.uk. Thank you again for your feedback. I am sorry that the care you received did not meet the high standard we would expect. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you need to. My email is antony.tiernan@whht.nhs.uk of you can call 01923 436 229. Alternatively, you can tweet me: @AntonyTiernan. Antony Tiernan Director of Communications and Corporate Affairs

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story