"Just tried the choose and book ..."

About: Harrogate District Hospital

(as the patient),

What could be improved

Just tried the choose and book appointments scheme for first time. What a waste of time. Logged on ok then sent to harrogate hospital site for booking. Clicked on to doctor then make appointment, it sent me back to screen and asked me to login, process just goes round in circles. Decided to phone, not much better as girl on end couldnt get list, said no appointment available from hospital and would have to send request to harrogate to get them to write to me to make appointment. The old system could have done this. Last thing she said was please ignore the appointment reminder letters, I reminded her that I hadnt actually made and appointment and she said 'I know the computer generates them automatically'. Think I will get GP to use old system next time.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Harrogate District Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback through the Choices website and I am sorry to hear that you experienced problems attempting to book an appointment through the Choose and Book system.

It is hard to determine precisely what happened on this occasion as we do not know what specialty you tried to book an appointment in. We are aware that we have capacity problems in some specialties which means appointments are not available to be booked and we are working hard to resolve this.

The issues you have raised have been fed into our Choose and Book steering groups both within the trust and on a Yorkshire-wide basis as all feedback on how the process works for our patients helps to ensure we can get it right as far as possible.

Best wishes

Gillian Neild, Head of Communications

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful