"A&E Visit"

About: Queen's Hospital, Burton Upon Trent

Rushed my wife in A & E at 3am with severe abdominal pain. Spent all of 4.5 hrs in seeing 3 Doctors , 1 x Houseofficer who was learning on his own and who thought surgery was an option, and also relied on a nurse to do bloods for him which didnt go down well. 1 x Senior House Officer who was very confident and dismissed this option and generated appropriate bedside manners. Finally 1 x Registrar who confirmed the SHO advice and was more interested in discharging my wife because there was only 15mins allocated time left on there computer system. Left with inconclusive findings. GP has now referred her back to hospital for further investigations. This is why NHS Is loosing money in referrals and inconsistent advice when not being dealt properly in house. Add to a worrying night with a car parking system that has you looking for loose change and remembering your car reg whilst half a sleep. On a positive note did receive a coffee from a very considerate nurse.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen's Hospital, Burton Upon Trent

Thank you for your comments and we take all comments seriously. We are sorry that you didn’t feel that you had received a positive patient experience and we would like to look in to our procedures to see if we can better the service that we provide. If you would like to talk further on your experience please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) by telephone 01283 593110 or by email pals@burtonft.nhs.uk Our Facilities department are looking at ways to improve the car parking system.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story