"Regular appointments"

About: Hillingdon Hospital

I am very disappointed with the time between follow up appointments. I last saw my rheumatologist in June 2013. I received a letter in September informing me that it was time to make a follow up appointment and should I fail to do so within 5 days, my name would be removed from patient list. I duly phoned to make an appointment and was informed that the next date available was for February 17th 2014. I fail to see how eight months between 'regular' appointments can be seen as good support or care. I have suffered from flare up in my condition and constant infections, but have no-one to turn too.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Hillingdon Hospital

I would like to apologise for the delay you have experienced in your follow up. Additional clinic capacity has been made available for 2014 to ensure delays are kept to an absolute minimum and we are currently recruiting a senior clinical nurse specialist who we hope to have in post within the next 3 months. Service capacity will continue to be reviewed throughout the year. I see that you were due to attend clinic on the 17th February, I hope you found this appointment helpful. If you have any further problems, please contact Michael White, Senior Service Manager, Medical Division on 01895 238282.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story