"Careless GP"

About: St Mary's Hospital (London)

Yesterday attended the A&E in day 6/7 of a worsening flu-like condition. After enduring the artic temperatures in the waiting areas I was called within a relatively short time by a nurse. I was asked many times to repeat answers to questions and any information I offered was treated as an irritant. I was eventually told to leave via a side door and return to the waiting room where everyone was clad in gloves, scarves, hats, coats. I was not told what would happen next. I wasn't sure whether to leave or wait for someone else. I would expect though, at the very least, that adequate heating be provided in an environment where there are sick people. I was called later by a GP. Despite the obvious symptoms: compressed, congested chest, burning sinus, near-blinding retro-orbital headache, sore throat etc I was advised that because I had no temperature at that time that this ever-worsening virus would go away with rest. Naturally this is extreamly hard to believe after seven days in bed. Antibiotics were not presribed. The worst thing about this appointment, is not only did ths GP not help me in any way (no suggestions offered other than rest) but when using the otoscope she unintentionally jabbed it in so hard that I started and grabbed my ear in pain. She stbbed something inthere and it hurt a great deal. She apologised and said she was trying to see around a piece of wax. Had she not been so careless I would not be suffering the ear pain I am this morning. The A&E experience was very troubling. I sat in an unacceptably cold environment, was turned away without help and suffered what is likely some kind of ear damage from the careless GP. Today I am sicker and have now have ear pain. I am now too sick to go anywhere for help. Please examine your service standards.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Mary's Hospital

Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust is disappointed to read of your experience at St Mary's Urgent Care Centre and we apologise for the distress that you were caused. You have raised some significant issues and it would be important to be able to investigate this incident. To facilitate this we hope you will contact our PALS team pals@imperial.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story