"Avoid at all costs"

I have just been discharged from my 4th stay at this hospital and once again I was appalled by the level of care. The staff frequently ignored me and pretended like they were sorting out my problems but in fact they did nothing. I was initially on Daisy Ward which was chaotic and disorganised and then I moved to Bluebell Ward which was stricter but slightly better. I even took up smoking for the first time in my life because I found the environment so stressful. The only good points were the support from the other patients and the times I was allowed out to see friends and family. My advice is try to avoid this hospital if at all possible. Ask to be treated at home instead.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Prospect Park Hospital

We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with the level of care you received when you stayed at Prospect Park Hospital and also that you found it very stressful. We are concerned to hear you feel that you were ignored and that you found Daisy Ward chaotic and disorganised and Bluebell Ward only slightly better. We are also concerned that you have had more than one unsatisfactory stay at Prospect Park Hospital and we would be grateful if you could tell us more details to help us address the issues specifically. If you feel able please do contact Sue McLaughlin who is Nurse Consultant for Inpatients in the West on 01189 605 241. We will however ensure this feedback is given to the ward managers so that they can address it within their teams and to prevent it happening further. Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story