"Cancellations for required shoulder operation"

About: Southampton General Hospital

I went in to have a long waited op'to my left arm, this op'had previously been arranged & cancelled twice by the hospital & once by myself due to a chest infection, I then attended on Friday the 3rd Jan at 7 15am, I had not eaten since 5 pm the previous day & had water up until 5.30am . I was prepared for the op' having seen the consultant who said I may have to stay in overnight also the anesthetist who also said I may have to stay the night,this I accepted , a At. 12.45 the nurse came in & said I would be going for the op' about 1pm, at 5 minutes to 1pm she came in &told me it was cancelled as no bed available, by this time I had a raging head ache felt utterly ill after waiting 6 hours without food & very little drink. Iam 79years old this month, & in great pain, also my husband lost money through having to wait for me. Not sure if I was coming out or staying in, so he had to.available to pick me up, also he paid almost £7 parking fees, I am still feeling unwell as the waiting & lack of food plus my headache left me feeling really poorly, do I have to go through all this again, please advise, if we could afford to go private we would but we are not able to enjoy that peace of mind even though we have both worked hard all our lives & not asked for anything . Thank you

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southampton General Hospital

Thank you for providing your feedback, and I am very sorry to read of your poor experience. Unfortunately, there are occassions when due to a high number of emergency admissions, elective patients have to be cancelled. Staff try ensure this does not happen, and will be aware of your previous cancellation and do their utmost to prevent a reoccurence. With regards to the parking fee, we would be happy to provide you with a refund for the excess amount you have paid. If you would like this arranged, please would you telephone the Patient Support Service on 02381 206325 who will be able to arrange this for you. I do hope your operation has now been rescheduled, and wish you well for your recovery.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story