"missed appointment"

About: Tameside General Hospital

Anything else?

having been seen regarding possible cancer the program for getting the reults was 1st class, and was concluded within 2 weeks. however from there the appointment for finding out the results ( as you can understand i was worried ) was poor. i phoned the secertary 3 times over 5 days, and was told on the 3rd phone call she said non had been made and she would contact appointments to arrange the first available. the next day i arrived home in the afternoon only to find out a letter with a morning appointment, and of course i had missed it. why did she not tell me there was one arranged and my worry wether good or bad i could cope with. i now have to arrange another one and it might now be after christmas and my concern means further worry.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lindsay Stewart, Deputy Director of Nursing, Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for sharing your positive progress, however I am sorry that the information in relation to your results / follow up has been lacking. Can I request that you contact PALS 0161 922 4466 so that we can support you with specific information you require and ensuring a quicker appointment is made for you.

Kind regards,

John Goodenough

Director of Nursing

‘’Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved? Please contact John Goodenough, Director of Nursing at


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story