"Did not feel safe after accident and two week stay"

About: The Princess Royal Hospital (Telford)

Anything else?

Arrived in A&E with two broken ribs and a acetabular fracture (hip socket) and was in great pain. I was heavly man-handled by x-ray with little consideration as to my pain. After x-ray Doctor abruptly suggested I was OK and could go home. This did not compute with how I felt and I was highly stressed as I new something was seriously wrong. They asked me to standup with a cruch, to help me on my way. I started to collapse due to internal bleeding and I became more amd more frightened. After a while once they noticed I could not stand up without passing out, a more senior Doctor was called, he suggested a scan and the damage was subsequently identified. I stayed in the hospital for two and a half weeks, and in-total was moved about five times to different wards. During this time I experienced a lack of care and respect from a number of nurses - e.g. left on a collapsed bed for several hours, and physically man-handled without the use of a board. On the last ward, we where collocated with a dementia patient who sang and shouted 24 hours a day, for several days with no one able to get any sleep. I was was feeling so stressed, I asked if I could make a complaint and that someone would come and see me, they never did. The head nurse started to realise that the sooner I got home the better. The discharge nurse was sirley, agressive, did not provide pain medications for home use. I was not told what would happen after my discharge in terms of follow up, just told to rest for three months at home. I wrang my GP and told her I had been sent home without any guidance and I was lost in terms of what happened next, she said she had not recieved any guidance either. I wrang the hospital again to ask what I needed to do, and they said I needed to return in six weeks to see how thing are healing - why was I not told this on exit?

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from The Princess Royal Hospital

Dear Anonymous Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about the Princess Royal Hospital. Unfortunately the NHS Choices website does not share your contact details with us so we are not able to contact you directly, but if you have not spoken to someone from the Trust already about the issues you have raised then please do consider contacting our Patient Advice and Liaison Service. This is located near the main hospital entrance at PRH or can be contacted on 01952 282888. Our aim is to provide high quality care for every patient every team and it does not sound as though your experiences and have met either your expectations or ours. Even if you do no choose to contact us directly, please rest assured that your experiences will be shared to help us improve the standards of care that we offer.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story