"Danger - do not enter - may damage your health"

About: Prospect Park Hospital

Anything else?

My relative was taken in by us to Daisy ward on a voluntary admission due to problems with medication change over after previous release - full information given.to nurse on admission about relative's medication.. Relative wanted some help and we all thought best place to get help I remember giving relative a big hug when we left. Wish we had dealt with issue at home. We visited the next day - ward was totally chaotic- 30 plus patients etc - Our relative was also chaotic and had gone totally downhill since admission due to wrong medication dose etc continuing to be given, Informed nurse about this wrong medication dose etc - but were told this was the process and made to feel like we were interfering. Asked to speak to doctor but none available. That evening relative sectioned - due to obvious chaotic problems with wrong medication dose not being given etc.- we were not informed about this until the following evening.. Relative not seen by doctor the following day when medication continued to be incorrect - obviously even more downhill and not allowed to see,.. Fax of correct medication taken in by us (as not on their computers) - but too late - damage was done.. Fully sectioned on the third day as obviously totally ill by that time. Have not seen relative for week as totally downhill all the way - have been refused access - not even for a hug.. Further problems more recently - aggressive behaviour, failure to acknowledge complaint - and that was certain staff! - Although to their credit when we informed the senior nurses action was finally taken - thanks to the two members of staff who listened. I know relative is ill but treated in such a way as they end up being sectioned again - felt almost like they wanted this to happen. Relative had been back at work the day before admission but now will probably not work again for many weeks. An absolute disgrace - How can we trust this place again? Seriously considering moving - I understand Birmingham deal with mental health patients in a far better way. One formal complaint in already and further one now is on its way. (PS Some staff are fantastic, caring, honest ,totally dedicated and should be given medals and we totally appreciate them - shame though that a few let the side down.)

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Prospect Park Hospital

Thank you for your comments regarding care provided to your relative on Daisy Ward. We are sorry that care did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We hope that you have received a satisfactory response following your formal complaint. We will continue to share your comments in an effort to improve this service although it was encouraging to see that some staff rose above the standards which you mention here.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story