"CT department an utter disgrace."

About: Macclesfield District General Hospital

Anything else?

A late feedback after being contacted by the CQC. Some of the staff were not wearing name badges or couldn't even make the effort to introduce themselves. They were uncaring and appeared to think patients were there for them and not the other way round. Laid down prodcures were not adhered to leaving the patient in discomfort and very distressed. Because a complaint was made, a follow up visit was better, but again, no name badges and no introduction by the staff. It is a basic right that every patient should know who they are being treated by and Macclesfield falls far short of this simple rule. Identification badges should not be hung round anyone's neck who has patient contact as there is always going to be a risk of infection between patients and staff.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Macclesfield District General Hospital

I was very disappointed to read the comments you have made about procedures not being adhered to and patients being in pain and distress as a result. I was also saddened to read the negative comments you have made about the nursing staff. Unfortunately from your posting on the NHS Choices website I am unable to clarify the details or where the concerns you have highlighted occurred. If you would like to discuss this matter further please contact The Customer Care Team on 01626 661449 or e-mail on ecn-tr.CustomerCareSevise@nhs.net who will be more than happy to assist you. I am very sorry your experience was so poor.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story