"Disappointed by parking measures"

About: North Tyneside General Hospital / Accident and emergency

(as the patient),

My pregnant partner was very unwell and we felt the need to visit accident and emergency. Paying for a ticket at 11pm then again when we left at 2. 38am.

I received a parking notice charge that didn't tell me why I was receiving it. I then appealed online as there is no telephone number with which to contact anyone.

I then received a reminder even though I had appealed and eventually a letter informing me that I had not paid enough for my stay.

If it hadn't been the early hours of the morning and my partner hadn't been so very ill I may have realised the mistake I made and put an extra £1. for an all day pass.

I really am disappointed in the hospital for adopting these measures when people are already sick and stressed enough.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Annie Laverty, Director of Patient Experience, Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust We are preparing to make a change

picture of Annie Laverty

Dear Jackie and partner,

I hope you are doing ok and feeling a lot better after your recent trip to hospital. I can imagine it was quite worrying having to come in as you did late at night.

I am really sorry about all the difficulties you have had appealing against your parking fine and for any distress this may have caused you. I feel you should have had an excemption. I want to do all I can to help so please do get in touch so that I can ensure we get this resolved for you. My email is annie.laverty@nhct.nhs.uk.

With best wishes,


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Annie Laverty, Director of Patient Experience, Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust We have made a change

picture of Annie Laverty

Dear Jackie,

Just to update you that the outcome of this. The Trust has made an important change and reached an agreement which will result in the termination of the management contract with Parking Eye on all Northumbria premises.

I hope this provides you with some assurance of our determination to listen and respond to the needs of our patients and the local people we serve.

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.

With all best wishes,


  • jackie71 thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too

Update posted by jackie71 (the patient)

Thank you Annie for bringing this to my attention. I am really happy to hear this news and are very reassured that you are indeed listening to the patients and feel very reassured. May I also take this opportunity to thank you for your responses.



Updates, changes and questions related to this story