"Wonderful Medical Care"

About: Wrightington Hospital

(as the patient),

I found the medical care to be excellent. From the Consultants to the Nursing Staff. I would recommend every time for this. Everything was explained, and you were made to feel that you mattered. The nursing staff were efficient friendly and caring. I was very glad I went there.

Down side was, 1. The noise on the ward late at night. Obviously the telephone and nursing station I do not include in this, but when it gets to 11. 15, and there are two televisions blaring away, both showing different programmes, I found that to be unacceptable. This was not every night, but a couple was too much.

2. Food, I likened to 1950's school dinners, stodgy and poor quality. The menu often differed to that on the glossy brochure, e. g. sandwiches which varied from that on offer, usually with some of the filling missing. No fresh fruit, no yoghurt, both clearly offered. Sunday lunch, totally different to that in the menu, juice to start, beef or pork dinner, no alternative, sweet apple pie and custard, no alternative.

That said, you aren't there for haute cuisine, just be prepared.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Susan Heighway, Patient Relations / PALS Manager , Patient Relations / PALS, Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay in Wrightington Hospital. It was pleasing to note that your medical and nursing care was excellent. I will ensure that the Director of Performance and the Head of Nursing for Specialist Services are alerted to your posting so they can pass on the kind comments you have made.

I was sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the catering offered and that you endured a noisy environment on occasion. These two points will also be brought to the attention of the Head of Nursing and to the Facilities Manager as it is important to the Trust to take on board comments both positive and negative about the services we provide to make improvements where appropriate.

Kind regards

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story