"St Mary's - disorganised and poor communication "

About: St Mary's Hospital / Gynaecology

(as the patient),

We were referred to St Mary's for IVF this year. We were grateful for the opportunity to receive help. Unfortunately, we had numerous delays in getting to our first appointment and constantly had to chase staff/make phone calls to get anywhere. This was a consistent problem throughout.

We saw a consultant who was lovely and reassuring. We didn't get an opportunity to discuss anything with a doctor after this despite several concerns during the treatment. The nurses were left to do all the communicating/troubleshooting and sadly were not up to it - not surprising as they are not doctors.

After treatment failed, I still didn't get to see a doctor. It has been over 6 weeks and even my GP hasn't even received a letter. The nurses are rushed off their feet and the doctors/admin staff don't care or perhaps can't care because of weak management.

The communication within CMFT in general is the worst I have experienced in the NHS. The executives should be ashamed of themselves. I'm also expecting the standard generic response to this story from CMFT - sums up their lack of ability/desire to provide personalised care. You are simply an item on a conveyor belt.

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

I am sorry to learn that you have had a poor experience of the IVF service in Saint Mary’s Hospital. We do strive to deliver the best patient experience and if we have failed to do so it would help us to know the details of your concerns so we can investigate them fully. I would however make the following points:

- I am sorry to hear that you waited a long time for your first appointment and that the communication around this was not adequate. We have made a number of changes over the past 12 months to reduce waiting times and improve the quality of our communication so it would be helpful for me to understand exactly where we failed in this instance so that we can continue to make improvements.

- If at any time our staff have appeared to be uncaring I would like to apologise for this and we will use your feedback with the team to understand where we can deliver improved patient care.

- I am sorry that your GP is yet to receive correspondence from us. I would have expected this to have been sent by now so if you are willing to provide your details I would be happy to investigate this for you to ensure your GP receives the correct communication promptly.

Mr Sam Evans; Directorate Manager, Gynaecology.

Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Updates, changes and questions related to this story