This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Really upset after appointment"

About: The Princess Royal Maternity Unit (Glasgow)

(as the patient),

I had an early morning scan appointment to make sure baby wasn't breech anymore.. they found baby was measuring a bit larger , not uncommon for me as my daughter was 8lb 11 .. sent round to daycare to wait 2 hours for a doctor,  who took me in and said I need a blood test or GD test to confirm I didn't have GD or sugar levels weren't high.

I said no, I felt they then used what I feel were scare tactics about shoulder dystocia, this happened with my daughter but was resolved quickly in labour. I know the risks with shoulder dystocia.  As I accepted induction last time for it,  I'm down for a home birth this time, but they want me in hospital due to this. The leaflet I was given contradicts everything they said to me, such as scans shouldn't be used or aren't accurate for a big baby, induction can be another cause of shoulder dystocia,  etc etc. I was really upset after the appointment as they did mention still birth,  disabilities,  mental disabilities and brain damage and weakness of baby's arms , and breaks of the shoulders or arms in the conversation, also if babies blood sugar was low they could have seizures after birth.

A lot of questions also couldn't be answered by staff such as why was I induced at 38 weeks with my daughter but they now want to leave it till 39? If they are so big at the moment and the same weight as my daughter was when she was born, I'm also not meeting the criteria for induction as big baby isn't an excuse for one,  also mention of c section if I was left till term.  I am considering not continuing with hospital care at all as this is not what I wanted I was just meant to be in for a presentation scan and out again not a growth scan. I am very disappointed and upset. 


Response from Victoria Mazzoni, Lead Midwife - PRM, Obstetrics, NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde 6 days ago
Victoria Mazzoni
Lead Midwife - PRM, Obstetrics,
NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde
Submitted on 12/10/2021 at 17:03
Published on Care Opinion at 17:03

Dear dancehp54,

I am so sorry to read of the concerns you now have following attending for your scan and it appears from what you have outlined within your post that you have some unanswered questions arising from it. I would hope that we could reassure and answer these if possible.

It would always be our intention following on from any examination or visit to discuss the findings with you alongside what options were available and if relevant any associated risks. This would be to support you in making fully informed choices regarding your birth options and also to enable you to formulate your birth plan.

Both your midwife or consultant and would be happy to discuss any concerns that you have regarding your ongoing pregnancy, labour or birth and I can arrange an appointment with them if you don't already have an appointment to do so.

I wish you all the very best through the remainder of your pregnancy and would be happy for you to contact me directly on 0141 201 3336 should you wish,

Kind regards,

Vicki Mazzoni

Lead Midwife

Princess Royal Maternity

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k