This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"What a waste of time."

About: Newcastle Dental Hospital

What I liked

The Trees in the car park

What could be improved

The information at reception

The Procedure for new patients

The information in the car park to prevent people from buying a ticket when they have just had a wasted journey.

The robots on reception who dont listen to the question asked and have an automatic response of come back tommorow.

Anything else?

I have not been to the dental hospital for 30 yrs and it seems nothing has changed, I am not familiar with the procedure and times and presented myself yesterday at 9.10 am to ask for some information on treatment only to be told we have no slots left for today come back in the morning at 8.30am, back out to the car I went to give my newly bought parking ticket to someone else, I came back today at 8.35 to be given the only information that we have no slots left again this morning, so yet again I have travelled into newcastle bought another parking tocket and arrived back home without any further information than try again tommorow, I think not ! Fantastic experience which just confirms why it is best to go private and get some professional service logo


Response from Newcastle Dental Hospital 10 years ago
Newcastle Dental Hospital
Submitted on 21/07/2011 at 14:07
Published on on 22/07/2011 at 04:00

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your visit to the Dental Hospital. It is very disappointing to hear that your visit fell below the standard expected. We would like to apologise that we did not have the treatment capacity on the day that you attended the dental hospital emergency clinic. Our ability to treat patients in this clinic is dependent upon the number of staff and students that are present on the clinic and unfortunately on the day that you attended the available capacity had been fully committed to patients who had arrived earlier that morning. As the daily capacity on this clinic is limited, patients are seen on a first come first served basis.

The reception staff do have details of a small number of local dentists who have advised us that they are sometimes able to take patients without an appointment and these details are usually made available to patients, we would like to apologise if you were not provided with this information when you attended the reception desk and have reminded the reception staff to provide these details to patients who we cannot accommodate.

Can we also apologise that you had to pay for a car parking ticket but could not be seen, the car park facility is for use by all patients and visitors and therefore a standard tariff per hour applies. If you would like to discuss your problems further, please contact Mr T Baker, Directorate Manager or Mr Paul Anderson, Patient Relations Manager on 0191 233 6161.

Details relating to the dental hospital emergency clinic are available by following this link

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k